Three new judges of J&K High Court take oath

Srinagar, Jun 6 (PTI) Three newly-appointed judges today took oath of office here, raising the strength of judges in Jammu and Kashmir High Court to 12 against 17 available positions.

Justice Sanjeev Kumar, Justice Maharaj Krishan Hanjura and Justice Sanjay Kumar Gupta were administered oath of office by Chief Justice of the High Court Justice Badar Durrez Ahmad at a ceremony held in the High Court Complex, an official spokesman said.

Earlier, the warrants of appointment of the new judges issued by the President Pranab Mukherjee were read out by the registrar general of the High Court Sanjay Dhar.

The registrar general also read the letter of authorization issued by the state Governor N N Vohra, authorizing Chief Justice to administer the oath of office to the newly-appointed judges, the spokesman said.

There are 17 positions in the High Court, including Chief Justice. Of those, 12 are permanent judges and five additional judges.Till now, there were only nine judges in the High Court.

Congratulating the newly-appointed judges, the Chief Justice wished them a successful tenure ahead.Members of the Bar Councils and various Bar Associations were among those present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply