Imran Khan elected as Pak’s new PM; will take oath tomorrow

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), chairman Imran Khan has been elected as Pakistan’s new prime minister.

The Cricketer-turned politician Khan, secured 176 votes while his only rival and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief Shahbaz Sharif got 96 votes in the polling that took place in the National Assembly today.

Khan will take the oath tomorrow as Pakistan’s 22nd prime minister. After the announcement of the result by National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, PML-N lawmakers chanted slogans against Khan and protested in the house.

The election for the top post became just a formality after the Pakistan Peoples Party led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari with 54 seats abstained from voting following a rift over Sharif’s candidature.

The PTI emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats in July 25 elections. Its number increased to 125 after nine independent members joined it and final tally reached 158 after it was allotted 28 out of 60 seats reserved for women and five out of 10 seats reserved for minorities.

Leave a Reply