Imran Khan sworn in as new Prime Minister of Pakistan

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party Chief, Imran Khan has taken oath as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan today.

President Mamnoon Hussain, administered the oath to Imran Khan at a ceremony held at the President House in Islamabad. Caretaker Prime Minister Nasirul Mulk, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, Chiefs of Army, Air Force and Navy were present at the ceremony. Former Indian cricket star and Punjab  Minister, Navjot Singh Sidhu was also present.

Imran Khan was elected Prime Minister of Pakistan by the newly-elected members of the National Assembly yesterday. He got 176 votes, while his opponent and Chief of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) Shehbaz Sharif managed to secure 96 votes. In the July 25 elections, PTI emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats.

Leave a Reply