Scott Morrison to become Australia’s news PM

Australian Treasurer Scott Morrison will become Australia’s new Prime Minister after winning a Liberal party leadership vote on Friday.

Mr Morrison, won an internal ballot 45-40 over former Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton.

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull did not contest the party ballot as he was  under pressure from poor polling, a looming election, and a revolt by conservative MPs. Josh Frydenberg, the environment and energy minister, was selected as deputy Liberal leader.

The Liberal party is the senior partner in the ruling conservative coalition that will face an election by May 2019.

Leave a Reply