Municipal elections: BJP showcases its winners without contest

Srinagar : The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the first time in election history of Kashmir, tasted success when its five candidates were elected uncontested from three Municipal Committees in South Kashmir districts, the last date for withdrawal of the nomination papers for which was September 25.

According to sources, this was for the first time in the history of Kashmir when BJP has won any election uncontested in Kashmir valley.

BJP leader Surinder Ambardar announced on his facebook wall that its five candidates have won Municipal elections uncontested from two districts of south Kashmir.

Surinder Ambardar is Kashmiri Pandit and represents BJP in Jammu and Kashmir Legislative council.

He said that BJP candidates have won uncontested two seats of Achabal and two seats of Kulgam and one seat of Devsar Municipal Committees respectively as no party or Independent candidate filed nomination papers against them in these Wards.

Interestingly from Kulgam Municipal Committee, husband and wife duo emerged victorious on BJP ticket from two wards. Babloo Gosani and his wife, Jyoti Gosani won uncontested from Ward No 13 and Ward No 7 respectively as no other candidate has filed nomination for these two wards.

He said that BJP activist Urmila Bali and her nephew emerged victorious from two Municipal Committee seats of Achabal on BJP ticket.

He added that BJP candidate Satish Zutshi was elected uncontested from eight member Municipal Committee of Devsar in Kulgam district also.

“My congratulations to “Manniya” Ashok Koul ji General secretary organisation and to the entire Team of BJP displaced District headed by Sh Chand Jee Bhat T N Bhat and special congratulations to Saraf Veer General secretary org. south Kashmir and his team for their efforts in tiring conditions,” Senior BJP leader Surinder Ambardar wrote on Facebook.

“As resolved by BJP to Bring development to all the regions of the state by strengthening the Democratic institutions despite any hurdles would ensure that good Governance and Basic amenities reach to the Last man standing and the Last Household,” he said.

He said that with our ‘Karyakartas’ showing the way now the dark clouds of helplessness and fear are passing away and many more have plunged in this fray of elections to local bodies in Kashmir valley to ensure their people get all kinds of basic amenities which include “Bijli, Sadak and Pani” thus paving way for Progressive society.

Reacting to BJP leaders post, a Facebook user Moti Lal Daftari wrote: “I am against the policy Of BJP in order to capture power in the State they make Kashmiri Pandits as scapegoats for their self-interests.”

“BJP failed to resettle and rehabilitate exiled pandits in their lost homes. They must desist from playing politics on the exiled pandits who have been living an exiled life for three decades. you won’t be able to get anything by playing Politics on Pandits. You are following the same path of your predecessors,” Moti Lal Daftari wrote.

Taking full advantage of poll boycott call of two main political parties including National Conference (NC) and People’s Democratic Party (PDP), BJP has entered into the election fray in Kashmir with full vigor and enthusiasm to strengthen their Position in  Kashmir.

The two major political parties in Jammu and Kashmir, the National Conference and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have decided to boycott the polls, saying that the central government is yet to declare its stand on Article 35A and the Congress, CPIM and other smaller parties also did not field candidates in these five Municipal wards making it a cakewalk for BJP candidates.

The ULB polls will be held in four phases from 8 to 16 October. The panchayat elections will be held in nine phases on a non-party basis beginning 17 November. The notification for the first phase of panchayat elections will be issued on 23 October.

Leave a Reply