The office of the chief election officer, J&K has today issued a corrigendum regarding the timing of polls for the second phase of Urban Local Bodies elections being held in the state on Wednesday. The corrigendum issued in partial modification of Notification Order dated 20th September, 2018 says “…..the timing of polls, if necessary shall be from 6.00 am to 4.00 pm.”


The number of wards going for polls in Kashmir Division stands at 166 and Jammu Division at 218 comprising a total of 384 wards for Phase 2 of ULB polls taking place on Wednesday, 10th October.

Elections will be held in 20 wards of Srinagar Municipal Corporation, Municipal Committee of Langate – 13 wards, Sumbal – 13 wards, Kunzar – 07 wards, Watergam – 13 wards, Char-I-Sharief – 13 wards, Beerwah – – 13 wards, Magam – 13 wards, Yaripora – 06 wards, Frisal – 13 wards, Anantnag – 25 wards, Bijbehara – 17 wards, thus electing representatives from 1 Municipal Corporation (SMC) and 1 Municipal Council, and 10 Municipal Committees in Kashmir Valley.

Similarly elections will be held in 21 wards of Udhampur Municipal Council and 21 wards of Kathua Municipal Council in Jammu division.

Also, Municipal Committee of Kishtwar – 13 wards, Doda – 17  wards, Bhaderwah – 13 wards, Thatri – 07 wards, Ramban – 07 wards, Banihal – 07 wards, Batote – 07 wards, Ramnagar – 13 wards, Chenani – 07 wards, Reasi – 13, Katra – 13, wards are going to polls in phase 2, electing representatives for 11 Municipal Committees.

The total Number of electors for One Municipal Council (Anantnag) of Kashmir Division is 47923, similarly the other two Municipal councils of State going for polls in Phase 2 of ULB election Udhampur and Kathua have 30229 and 34885 electors respectively.

Ten Municipal Committees going for polls from Kashmir Division have total of 53076 electors and Eleven Municipal Committees from Jammu Division has a total of 44198 votes.

The Municipal Elections 2018 have been announced on 15th September 2018 with 79 Municipal Bodies going to polls in four phases with pol dates of 8th, 10th 13th and 16th of October 2018. To ensure free and fair polls, the model code of conduct has come into force w.e.f the date of announcement and all security agencies have been put on high alert.

Noteworthy to mention, two major mainstream political parties NC and PDP have decided to boycott the polls.

Leave a Reply