BJP announces 1st list its candidates for Assembly polls in Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Mizoram

The BJP on Saturday announced the first list its candidates for the upcoming Assembly polls in Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.

The names of candidates were finalised during the  BJP Central Election Committee meeting  in New Delhi which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party Chief Amit Shah and other senior leaders.

Later  briefing reporters, Union Minister and party leader J P Nadda said, out of the 90 seats in Chhattisgarh,  the party has declared its candidates on 77 seats in the first list. Chief Minister Raman Singh will contest from Rajnandgaon.  The state will go to poll in two phases.

Mr Nadda also said, names for candidates on 38 seats have been finalised for upcoming 119 member  assembly polls in Telangana. While the CEC has also announced the names of  13  candidates for 40-member assembly polls in Mizoram.

Mr Nadda also said, the CEC also passed a condolence resolution, expressing sorrow over the tragedy on rail tracks in Amritsar. It observed a two minute silence as a mark of respect to the departed soul, he said.

The results of the urban local bodies elections in Tripura and Jammu and Kashmir are encouraging and the meeting expressed its gratitude to the people of the both the States for voting in favour of BJP, he added.

Leave a Reply