First T20I: India win toss, elect to bowl against Australia at Brisbane

In Cricket, India have won the toss and opted to bowl against Australia in the first Twenty-20 International of the three-match series at Brisbane. The Indian team, led by Virat Kohli, has been quite dominant in the shortest format of the game and had blanked the Aussies 3-0, the last time they were in the country in 2016.

India have won their last seven T20 International series, while Australia are yet to beat an opponent of note in this format since the ball-tampering scandal.

India will start as favourites against a weakened Australian side which will be without star players Steve Smith and David Warner. An appeal to reduce their bans was turned down by Cricket Australia on Tuesday morning.

After the T20 series, the two sides will play four Tests and three ODIs.

Leave a Reply