Election Observers chaired poll preparedness meeting for Jammu Parliamentary constituency

Election Observers along with Returning Officer 6-Jammu Parliamentary constituency Ramesh Kumar today chaired a poll preparedness meeting at PWD Guest House Jammu in which threadbare discussion held pertaining to overall arrangements of Lok Sabha Election in Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary Constituency.

Election Observers Amit Kumar, Parwin Kumar Toppo, Chandan Chayan Gusa, Subey Singh Yadav, Yogesh Kumar, Tariq Thomas, Sanwar Bharti, Andra Vasmi along with Nodal Officers and senior officers of different department were present in the meeting.

Status of District Election Management Plan, Status of Booth Level Election Management Plan, Description of Polling Stations and their vulnerability, strong rooms for storage of EVMs aong with their locations and security detail of voters (Male/Female), Man power deployment plan including polling party, Service Electors Details, schedule of ballot paper transmission, status of EVMs, Training Schedule, Security Deployment Plan, Model Code of Conduct, voter facilitation & complaints management, Expenditure Monitoring Mechanism, monitoring of paid news, Transportation & Distribution Plan, facilitation of polling parties at collection centres were discussed in detail in the meeting.

Giving details about the polling stations in Jammu district, Returning Officer briefed that 224 new polling stations have been added to last General Elections which were held in 2014. He said that with the addition of 224 polling stations a total of 1380 polling stations in the district have been setup for 2019 election. Providing further details, he said that out of 1380 polling stations 12 are vulnerable and 169 are sensitive.

Ramesh Kumar said that the district administration has deployed adequate man power for the smooth, free,fair, peaceful and transparent conduct of general elections. He said that 9500 manpower is available for different nature of works related to elections adding that 11 Zonal Magistrate, 105 Sectoral Magistrate, 180 Micro Observers, 12 Teams of Flying Squad, 12 MCMC, 11VST and 33 SST.

RO said that after the announcement of Lok Sahba Election and in order to strictly enforcement of Model Code of conduct in the District several steps have been taken such as public notices has been issued regarding restrictions on the printing of pamphlets, posters etc, political parties were instructed regarding defacement of public property, restrictions have been imposed on the use of loudspeakers at night between 10.00 pm to 6.00 am in the district.

He further said that a complaint monitoring control room has been established at the District Level in which 259 out of 335 complaints were disposed off received through NGRS and all 510 complaints were disposed off received through toll free number 1950.

DEO said that voting is scheduled on 11 April 2019 for Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary Elections, but marked e-postal ballot can be received at the office of RO till 23 May 2019 before 8.00 PM.

Observers,while putting up satisfaction on the present and future arrangements for the election preparedness urged all the employees deputed to election duties to work hard with dedication and ensure successful culmination of whole process of elections

Leave a Reply