Brilliant Rohan steals show as Young Strikers lift cricket title

*Panun Kashmir honours ace sportspersons

Stealing the show, swashbuckling Rohan Koul was at his butchering best, smashing a thunderous century as formidable Young Strikers XI defeated Satan Homeland XI by a big margin of 120 runs to lift the Cricket title of the ongoing PK’s annual sports extravaganza which concluded with a well attended, colourful and impressive closing ceremony at Jagti here today.

The mega event which included Cricket, Football, Volleyball and Badminton tournaments, was organised with an objective to provide platform to community youth to hone their sporting skills, besides helping them not to fall prey to social evils and not to derail from the mainstream.

Captain SK Tickoo, Advocate Ankur Sharma, Mr Pardeep Dutta and Advocate Monika Kohli were the special guests, while top PK leaders Dr Agnishekhar and Dr Ajay Chrungoo were present on the occasion.

The dignitaries were accompanied by Panun Kashmir functionaries including Kuldeep Raiina, Behari Lal Koul, Pran Raina, Satish Sher and Sunil Bhat.

Earlier, put into bat, Young Strikers XI scored a massive total of 225 runs in the stipulated 20 overs, losing 5 wickets in the process. Rohan Koul top scored with power-packed 100 runs off 43 balls, studded with 10 fours and 7 sixes, while Vicky Raina and Varun contributed 31 and unbeaten 29 runs to the total respectively. For Satan Homeland, Sushil Pandita, Ram Ji, Rockey and Suman Koul claimed 1 wicket each.

In reply, Satan Homeland XI bundled out for 105 runs, thus lost the match by 120 runs. None of the batsmen from Satan Homeland XI could show much application and resistance. For Young Strikers XI, Ravi Pandita was the wrecker-in-chief, who took 4 important wickets, while Vishal Kanth, Sahil Pandita and Vicky Raina took 2 wickets each. For his brilliant century, Rohan Koul was adjudged as the man of the match. For scoring two centuries in the tournament, Rohan was also declared as the man of the series.

The match was officiated by Vijay Raina and Surinder Bhat as umpires.

In other tournaments of this sporting extravaganza, Homeland CC lifted Women’s Cricket Cup, Jagti Veterans got the better of Jammu Veterans to lift Veterans Cricket Cup,  Zyeshta Devi FC defeated Jagti United FC to win Football tourney, Homeland Club prevailed over Nagrota Kings to lift Volleball Championship and the duo of Deepak and Anmol drubbed the pair of Akshay and Rajat to win the Badminton Tournament.

The winners and runners-up teams were honoured with the prizes  by the quartet of Captain Tickoo, Advocate Ankur, Advocate Monika and Journalist Dutta in presence of Dr Agnishekhar, Dr Ajay Chrungoo and Advocate  Titu Ganju, the Organising Secretary of the Tournament.

On the occasion, Panun Kashmir honoured the ace sportspersons of the community for their valued contribution in the field of sports. Those sportspersons who were honoured included Kuldeep Handoo, Rakesh Koul, Raman Thaploo, Vimarsh Kaw, Praful Dhar, Ravi Pandita, Sarthak Peshin, Ankita Jalla, Sheena Saraf, Richa Trisal, Diksha Raina and Rajesh Dhar.

The event was sponsored by Lava, while the trophies and bats were sponsored by Arun Tickoo Foundation.

The event was conducted under the supervision of Pyare Lal Pandita and Sushil Pandita, while the proceedings of the closing ceremony were conducted by famous commentator Rajesh Dhar.

Leave a Reply