Rohit Sharma to captain India’s T-20 International team for upcoming series against New Zealand

India’s limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been officially announced as Team India’s T20 International captain, replacing Virat Kohli. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the decision yesterday while also naming India’s 16-man squad for the upcoming home series against New Zealand.

Kohli had earlier announced his decision to step down as India’s captain in the shortest format following the conclusion of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

Sharma was the frontrunner to replace Kohli as the T20I captain ever since Kohli made the announcement. Sharma’s first assignment will be the upcoming series against New Zealand where the Black Caps will play three T20 internationals against the Men in Blue.

Leave a Reply