European Parliament to choose its President for 2nd half of legislative term

European Parliament will choose its President for the second half of the legislative term today. The meeting will be presided over by a Vice-President, determined in accordance with the order of precedence. Four Member Election Parliament, Roberta Metsola, Alice Bah, Kosma Zlotowski, and Sira Rego have announced their candidacy. The result will be announced today only. The newly-elected President may then deliver an opening address and Appointments to parliamentary committees possibly on Wednesday.

At the start of the five-year term, all elected offices in the Parliament (the President, Vice-Presidents, Quaestors, Committee and Delegation Chairs and Vice-Chairs) are renewed and halfway through. Due to the pandemic, the vote will be held remotely.

Leave a Reply