Deadline for filing of nominations ends in Rajasthan, Telangana

Today was the last date for filing of nominations for assembly polls in Rajasthan and Telangana.

Scrutiny will be taken up tomorrow and Thursday is the last day for withdrawal of nominations.

For 200-member Rajasthan assembly, 3 thousand one hundred 64 candidates have filed nominations.

Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot, Congress leader Sachin Pilot and some Ministers of Vasundhara Raje Cabinet were among those who filed their papers.

In Telangana, the Congress has fielded its candidates in over 100 seats against 94 allotted to it by Praja Kutami, the grand alliance understanding.

TJS has fielded its candidates in 12 constituencies against 8 allotted to it by the alliance.

Both states will go to polls on 7th of next month in a single phase.

Meanwhile, Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat has expressed satisfaction over preparations for the assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh.

Talking to media in Bhopal, Mr Rawat said, the Election commission is committed to conducting a liquor-free election in the state this time.

In Mizoram, leaders of various political parties are leaving no stone unturned to win the voters. Our Correspondent reports, voting for service voters on postal ballots began today.

Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram will go to polls in a single phase on the 28th of this month.

Counting of votes in five states will take place on 11th of next month.

Leave a Reply