FM Arun Jaitley to inaugurate National Press Day celebrations in New Delhi today

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will inaugurate the National Press Day celebrations in New Delhi today. Briefing media last evening, Press Council of India Chairman CK Prasad said the winners of the National Awards for Excellence in Journalism will be honoured on the occasion.

Eminent journalist and Chairman of the Hindu Publishing Group, N Ram has been selected under prestigious award category of Raja Ram Mohan Roy award. Ruby Sarkar, Chief Correspondent of Deshbandhu, Bhopal and Rajesh Joshte of Daily Pudhari in Ratnagiri will share the award in category of Rural Journalism.

Mr Prasad said the selection of the awardees was carried out by a jury comprising eminent working journalists, and senior editors, among others.

Delegates from neighbouring Press Councils of SAARC countries – Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Maldives will be present on the occasion. The inaugural function will also include release of a souvenir.

The National Press Day is symbolic of a free and responsible press in India. It was on this day that the Press Council of India started functioning as a moral watchdog.

The Press Council has been mandated by Parliament to improve the standards of journalism and maintain its freedom.

Leave a Reply