UTTA Players brought laurels by winning Gold at State level Table Tennis Championship

UDHAMPUR: UTTA-Udhampur Table Tennis Association players brought laurels at Inter District State Level Table Tennis Championship at Leh by winning Gold medal.

A felicitation ceremony was organised by the Association at Udhampur to encourage & boost up the morale of young talent. On this occasion Former MLA & Chief Patron UTTA Balwant Singh Mankotia was the chief guest.

Earlier, Tarun (Working President) presented the welcome address in which he welcomed the gathering.

In his address, Tarun congratulated the young talent for their tremendous achievement. He said that it is the matter of pride that after many hurdles & non cooperative behaviour of the Department of Youth Services & Sports, they managed to win Gold Medal at State Level Championship.

Lambasting the irresponsible behaviour of District Sports officer Udhampur, Tarun said that it is completely unacceptable & shameful that such officers asked players to skip the championship & forced them to quit their game which shows that Sports authorities are demoralising young talent of our district instead of promoting.

He expressed his anxiety over Arrogant behaviour of the officer & said it to be a matter of big shame for the sports authorities that Department of Youth Services & Sports are not having funds to promote the talent.

Later, Chief Guest on the occasion Former MLA & Chief Patron of the Udhampur Table Tennis Association Balwant Singh Mankotia felicitated the players & conveyed his blessings for their future.

He further said that sports is necessary for the overall development of the children in all aspects & it is the right time to channelise their energy in positive way. Mankotia expressed deep anguish over the smuggling & increasing rate of drugs in state & blamed that successive regimes in state failed to drug menace.

Mankotia appealed to the parents to *inculcate* leadership qualities in their children by indulging them in sports activities.

Lastly, Ankit Sharma (Vice President) & Prikshit Khajuria (Joint Secretary) presented the vote of thanks.

Sunny Sharma (Sr. Vice President), Vikas Mahajan, Sahil Gupta, Abhijeet Thakur, Rajat singh, Vijay Sallan, Samnik Bhasin,Balwinder Singh & the parents of the players were also present during the occasion.

*U-19 gold medal winner Team Players:-*
1) Harshit Ramotra
2) Abhay Gupta
3) Mahi Kailu
4) Sudansh Verma

Final results:- District Udhampur beat Jammu District by 3-1

Leave a Reply